Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media

Daljit Singh Sahota


Daljit Singh Sahota (President Indian Overseas Congress UK)
Co-Chairman of Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee - NRI Cell

Chandigarh: The Congress high command in consultation with Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee President Capt. Amarinder Singh today appointed Indian Overseas Congress UK President Daljit Singh Sahota as the Co-Chairman of the Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee NRI Cell, in order to woo the NRIs and campaign actively abroad in favour of the Indian National Congress party in the wake of the upcoming state Assembly elections in Punjab.

Daljit Singh Sahota mentioned he was very grateful  to Smt. Sonia Gandhi (President – All India Congress Committee), Thakur Gulchain Singh Charak (Member Congress Working Committee & Party Incharge – Punjab) and Capt. Amarinder Singh (President – Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee) for his appointment as Co-Chairman of the NRI Cell, PPCC and for recognizing his efforts in strengthening the Congress party abroad.

He also thanked S. Kewal Singh Dhillon (Vice President – Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee and MLA Barnala) for his tireless efforts, support and commitment towards NRIs. 

He mentioned that thousands of NRI Punjabis from around the globe are just awaiting the announcement of Assembly elections in Punjab so as to actively campaign in favour of the Congress party in Punjab. Others present on this occasion were Mohinder Singh Kang (Chairman Indian Overseas Congress UK), Gurmail Singh Gill (President Indian Overseas Congress Norway), Gurvir Singh Atkar (President Indian Overseas Congress England), Gurpal Singh (Gen. Secy. Indian Overseas Congress UK), Sarabjot Singh Lali (Co-ordinator Indian Overseas Congress), Harkirat Singh Toor (Co-ordinator Indian Overseas Congress UK), Avtar Singh Sahota, Narinder Pal Singh, Varinder Jeet Singh UK.


May 2008

President: Daljit Singh Sahota (Leicester)

Presidents and Chairman’s of Indian Overseas Congress England, Wales, Scotland and Ireland are the executive members of the Indian Overseas Congress (United Kingdom).

Chief Patron: Nirmal Singh Sekhon MBE (Yorkshire)

Patrons: Hardial Singh Sandhu (London), Gurdial Singh Balam (Derby), Swaran Singh Kular (Wolverhampton) and Ram Singh Khera (Birmingham)

Chairman: Mohinder Singh Kang (London)

Senior Vice Chairman: Palwinder Singh Attwal (Leamington Spa)

Vice Chairman: Jaspal Singh Sandhu (Birmingham)

Senior Vice President: Karnail Singh Chatha (Yorkshire)

Vice President: Gurcharan Singh (Leicester)

General Secretaries: Dr. Mahesh Arora MBBS (Hinckley and Wolvey), Gurpal Singh (Grimsby) and Gian Singh Sahota (Bradford).

Treasurer: Dilbagh Singh Kang (Birmingham)

Legal Cell Chairman: Iqbal Singh Sekhon (Sekhon and Firth Solicitors) (Bradford)

Sports Cell Chairman: Jarnail Singh Brinning (Derby)

Culture Cell Chairman: Sohan Singh Bhukarwalia (Coventry) and Kuldip Singh Raggi (Leicester)

Chief Advisor: Gulbir Singh Rana (Leicester)

One committee has been headed by Nirmal Singh Sekhon MBE to raise funds for the party. The committee members will coordinate with the Congress party of India and the Government of India and the Indian High Commission here in Birmingham and London.

The committee members are as follows:

Nirmal Singh Sekhon MBE (Yorkshire)
Rana Harkirit Dhillon (Scotland)

Sukhdev Purewal (Wales)

Gurbir Atkar (London)

Jarnail Singh Deol (Leeds)

Dilbagh Singh Kang (Birmingham)

December, 2007

Indian Overseas Congress England branch

Established by Mr Daljit Singh Sahota (In Charge of Indian Overseas Congress UK & Europe).

Individual members selected to represent the IOC on national level.

Chief patron: Umrao Singh Attwal (Hounslow)

Patrons: Jarnail Singh Baharmajara (London), Dildar Singh Dara (Leicester) and Mohinder Singh Mourh (Wolverhampton)

President: Gurbir Singh Atkar (London)

Senior Vice President: Harbhajan Singh Sidhu (Peterborough)

Vice President: Piara Singh Gumtala (Birmingham)

Vice President: Shingara Singh Attwal (Leicester)

Chairman: Jarnail Singh Deol (Yorkshire)

Senior Vice Chairman: Sunny Chopra (Leicester)

Vice Chairman: Harjinder Singh Kang (Kettering)

General Secretaries: Satwinder Singh Saggu (London), Acharpal Dharni (Yorkshire) and Sapuran Singh (Bradford).

Treasurers: Raj Singh (Birmingham) and Gurdial Singh Chatha (Bradford)

Legal Cell Chairman: Bikramjit Singh LL.B Law Honours (Kettering)

Culture Cell Chairman: Jarnail Singh Dosanjh (Birmingham)

Sports Cell Chairman: Hardial Singh Bhalwan (Leicester)