Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media
White House Fellows Program


White House selected 4 NRIs for White House Fellows programme


Washington, May 06, 2009
Piara Singh

WASHINGTON – The White House today announced that thirty outstanding men and women from across the country have been selected as National Finalists for the White House Fellows Program – the nation’s most prestigious program for leadership and public service. The National Finalists represent a diverse cross-section of professions, including business, medicine, law, non-profit sector, media, state government, finance, and education. Additionally, four branches of the military are represented among the National Finalists. The four NRIs at the list of the National Finalists appears below.

  • Sudip Bose, Attending Emergency Physician, Advocate Christ Medical Center; Chicago, IL
  • Anish Mahajan, Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholar; Poughkeepsie, New York
  • Manish Sethi, Surgical Resident, Harvard Combined Orthopedics Program; Brookline, MA
  • Raj Shah, MBA Candidate, University of Pennsylvania Wharton School of Business; Bonaire, GA

The White House Fellows Program was founded in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson. This non-partisan program offers exceptional men and women experience working at the highest levels of the federal government. Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors and complete service activities throughout the year. Following the program, Fellows are expected to repay the privilege by contributing to the country as national leaders and public servants.

This years National Finalists embody President and First Lady Obama’s commitment to public service. Finalists were selected, in part, because of their exceptional record of incorporating service into their professional pursuits. "This year’s finalists represent some of our nation’s most promising leaders." said First Lady Michelle Obama. "Most importantly, each one of the White House Fellow’s finalists has found a way to positively impact the lives of those around them."

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one’s career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the federal government. Throughout its history, the program has fostered leaders in many fields including former Secretary of Labor Elaine Chao, former Secretary of State Colin Powell, retired U.S. Army General Wesley Clark, U.S. Senator Samuel Brownback, U.S. Representative Joe Barton, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, writer Doris Kearns Goodwin, former Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, former CNN Chairman and CEO Tom Johnson, managing partner of Nogales Investors and former Univision president Luis Nogales, and U.S. Court of Appeals Judges M. Margaret McKeown and Deanell Reece Tacha.