Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media


GOPIO -  Orange County Celebrates Charter Nite

Los Angeles, March 03, 2018
By D. Butani/ Rana/

GOPIO Orange County Chapter celebrated their Third Charter Nite at the Tandoor Restaurant, CA.

The invited guests included GOPIO International Trustee Inder Singh, former Mayor Dr Prakash Narain, Popular Music Director Jatin Pandit, Sri Lanka Counsel General Swarna Gunaratne and former Assemblywoman Young Kim. The program started with lamp lighting followed by National Anthems of USA and India. Next was a patriotic song by Veena Singh.

Chairman Dilip Butani, who is also the Southern California coordinator, welcomed the audience and also mentioned about the new five chapters to be opened in this year. Next President Amrit Bhandari introduced the chapter members and spoke about the projects that would be accomplished in next one year. Inder Singh complimented the chapter for the goals achieved and spoke about the aims and objects of GOPIO.

Dr Prakash Narain was all praise for chapter’s achievements. Jatin Pandit complimented the Chapter members by singing in his melodious voice a popular bollywood song.

Sri Lanka Counsel General spoke about the good relations between India and Sri Lanka and was happy that the Indian Community was connected all around the world.

Young Kim said she was happy to hear chapter’s community services. She also announced her candidature for Congresswoman in place of Ed Royce, who will be retiring after his present term. Harkishan Vasa spoke about importance of GOPIO. In the end Secretary Dolly Singh thanked everyone.

The speeches were followed by a wonderful cultural program. There were three dance items organized by Savithri Arts Acadamy Director Dr Sinduri. This was followed by wonderful bollywood songs by popular singers – Nauzad Sadry, Ram Tasildar and Bhavna Chawla.  

The wonderful team that worked hard to make this show a great success include Dilip Butani, Amrit Bhandari, Dolly Singh, Sukrit Mukherjee, Dr Sinduri Jaya singhe, Sunil Shah, Geetinder Singh, Ramesh Bhatt, Siddharth Pathak, Hark Vasa, Prakash Pancholi, Nila Parekh, Bharat Shah and Kantilal Shah.