on August 15, 2004

Los Angeles, CA, July 29, 2004
Kishore Kaul

The Friends of Indo-American Community (FOIAC) will hold its annual awards banquet on August 15, 2004 at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel. The event commemorates India's 57th Independence Day and will also recognize the impact of the Indian-American business and social community in Los Angeles. The event honors exemplary Indian-Americans, including entrepreneurs, corporate, social and public partners that have contributed to the community growth and development of businesses, and the role of the Indian community in the State of California.

The FOAIC Awards 2004 is a salutation to this fast-growing ethnic minority. The event has attracted stalwarts of both Indian and American corporate, public and social worlds. Invited guests include Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, Congressman Ed Royce, LA County Sheriff Lee Baca, Orange County Supervisor Chris Norby, State Senator Satveer Chaudhury, State Assemblyman Leeland Yee, and Consul General HHS Vishanathan. Hollywood and Bollywood dignitaries include David Hasselhoff, Alan Thicke, Ashok Amitraj, and Hema Malini. More than 500 million people will view this event worldwide thanks to ZEE TV and TinselTown TV,

The awards honor Indian Americans with the vision, leadership and determination to build and sustain growing dynamic businesses and community in California. Awards are given to those individuals who have distinguished themselves in areas such as innovation, community involvement, social activities and personal integrity and influence. In addition to the Dhirubhai Ambani Award - Entrepreneur of the Year award, award recipients will be selected for the following categories:

" Mother Theresa Award Humanitarian of the Year: An individual who exemplifies charitable contributions to his/her community.

" Mahatma Gandhi Award - Outstanding Individual Contribution to Society: An individual who has demonstrated a commitment to improving society through extraordinary achievements.

" Rabindranath Tagore Award - Outstanding Youth of the Year: An individual youth with strong character and leadership, along with willingness to serve and to realize their full potential as productive, responsible and caring citizens.

" Kalpana Chawla Awards - Outstanding Woman of the Year: A woman who has significantly contributed to her community.
Nominations are now open until August 10, 2004. To submit a nomination, please fax a profile, with detailed contact information, to (714) 577-8592.

The awards banquet begins at 5:00 p.m. with a cocktail reception, followed by welcoming remarks, dinner, the keynote address and the presentation of the awards. The program ends with entertainment and dancing including a wonderful array of Indian classical music. Sponsorships for the event and the awards are welcomed. For details, call Kishore Kaul or FOIAC at (562) 572-8751.

Contact: Kishore Kaul
Telephone: (562) 572-8751