Connecting over 25 millions NRIs worldwide
Most trusted Name in the NRI media
The International Association of Punjabi Authors and Artists, Canada


2008 I.A.P.A.A. Theatre Award for Dr. Sahib Singh

Vancouver, Feb 14, 2009
Gulzar Singh Sandhu/Ravi Sidhu

The International Association of Punjabi Authors and Artists, Canada, has decided to give its Anter-Rashtari Shiromani Rungkarmi Award, for the year 2008, to Dr. Sahib Singh, a prominent theatre personality of Punjab, India.

Actor, Director and Performing Artist Sahib Singh has acted in 110 plays including those titled Umrao Jaan, Pinjar , Pooran, Court Marshal and Man De Haani, apart from a dozen TV serials and half a dozen telefilms. He has directed 50 and written 20 plays. He has also arranged three of his drama shows in Pakistan apart from arranging "Sadaa- e -Aman" festival to cement Indo-Pak friendship wherein seven teams participated from both the countries.

Sahib Singh has already been honourd in Great Britain, Canada and host of organizations in India.
The I.A.P.A.A. was established, in Canada, in 1978 and its awrdees include Sant Singh Sekhon, Amrita Pritam , Kartar Singh Duggal( India ), Afzal Ahsan Randhawa and Fakhar Zamaan ( Pakistan ) along with 40 other celebrities from all over the world. Those from the world of art & performing arts include Sohan Qadri (Denmark) and Dev
( Switzerland ) for paintings , Dr. Harcharan Singh, Balwant Gargi , Dr. Surjit Singh Sethi, Joginder Bahrla, Ajmer Singh Aulakh and Dr. Manjitpal Kaur for theatre. Sahib Singh represents the latest generation of theatre world in Punjab.

The award carrying 11000 Indian Rupees, shawl and citation will be presented to Dr. Sahib Singh on February 20 , 2009, in Shri Ram Centre , New Delhi, at the stage, where Man De Haani, a play written by Ravinder Ravi and directed by Dr. Sahib Singh, is being performed.

I.A.P.A.A. Awards:

The following authors, journalists and artists were honoured with Prof. Piara Singh Gill & Karam Singh Sandhu Memorial Antar-Rashtari Shiromani Sahitkaar/Kalakaar Award, by the IAPAA, since its inception in 1978.........Read